What is Maturity?

maturity

* I got this list from a brother in Austin, Texas. It really caught my attention and caused me to really see if I was as mature as I thought. Showed me that I still had a lot of things to work on in my personal life.

Are you Mature?

*Facing the truth honestly.
*Looking beyond personal comfort and gratification to the greater good.
*Dealing with change without falling apart.
*Working hard and completing a job; whether supervised or not.
*Keeping the stresses and worries of life from taking control.
*Doing the right thing regardless of what others say and do.
*Finding more joy in giving than receiving.
*Bearing an injustice without having to get even.
*Relating to others in a consistently positive and helpful manner.
*Being a person of your word.
*Demonstrating respect.
*Showing love in both word and deed.
*Learning to be content based upon internal attitudes rather than external circumstance.

How you match up?

3 Comments

Filed under Maturity, Personal Growth, Personal Reflection, Quotes

3 responses to “What is Maturity?

  1. Pingback: Quote of The Day « Jettonowhere's Blog

  2. I think a lot of the people have gotten it wrong or, at least, have not gotten it, a lot of this list included. Many of these traits are just a matter of character or disposition or some more general ideal for being a really great person. I’ve recently been trying to sort out ‘maturity’ on my own, trying to understand what it is. The problem that I see, is that most people define ‘maturity’ as an opposite of ‘immaturity,’ so that, instead of it being a specific action on its own, it’s just not behaving a certain way. This says a lot, as though we naturally assume the immature actions first, or area always wary of them. But maturity isn’t, as a lot of people tend to assign it, just a matter of being precocious or even cautious.

    What we need is a more specific definition of maturity, and not just some general sense of doing good or making good decisions. I don’t think it has anything to do with what you choose do do, but how you make those choices. See what you think about my take on it, in “How to Be a Grownup”

  3. Pingback: 2010 in review | ROB & BIG [dreams]

Leave a comment