Daily Archives: May 2, 2009

With Great Pride & Happiness

graduates-m
Wtitten 11/28/08 (Dedicated to every UTC Alumni) :

Today is your day and we celebrate you,

And those that are here will stand behind you in all you set out to do.

You took the step to separate from your city and other comfortable factors,

And since you’ve been here, you’ve allowed God to write several new chapters.

I’m sure it was difficult in the beginning for both you and your parents,

But looking back, I’m sure you don’t see that decision as something you regretted.

From the start I’m sure there was a struggle, some stretching and a war within,

3 minute showers, 5 minute rule and not to mention some new discipline.

But God broke you at the altar morning after morning,

And prayfully we’ll be that group that will continue to experience His presence and glory.

We’ve lived on faith, traveled to different cities and trusted for the great and small,

He’s given us a promise and His Holy Spirit to answer the call.

We’re thankful that we’ve been vessels to create smiles in the hearts of many,

He’s taught us to appreciate the little things in life, even if to others it’s not worth more than a penny.

You’ve put in the hardwork with long practices from morning to night,

And now look at you, you’ve walking around with an even brighter light.

You’re glowing, you’re radiant and people want what you have,

I know some big encouragers had to be your siblings, parents and heavenly dad.

Along with your beautiful family, there had to be a few special friends,

Relax, enjoy and cherish this moment as this season of your life comes to an end.

You’re about to start a new phase in your life but don’t be quick to rush this moment,

We all gathered for you on this day for one reason, to let you know you’re important.

You have a great purpose with more than potential,

So don’t settle for anything less than being influential.

It’s our time to do our part and put what we’ve learned into action,

We want to give God our all and not settle for a fraction.

You have all discovered your talents, dreams and destination,

And we’ll all go home to make an impact in this NOW generation.

Reaching souls, talking with God face to face and reading His timeless love letter,

Looking back on this year, celebrating with friends and family…it just doesn’t get any better.

So as you continue to live a life of ministry, balance and bliss,

Just remember this day when we celebrated you with great pride and happiness!

1 Comment

Filed under Graduation, Poems, Urban Training Center

Eternity by Jesus Christ

*I’m really looking foward to getting back into blogging.  Been out the game for a minute.  Many of my blogs will range from; poems, illustrations, reflections on books or messages and maybe even some random thoughts along the way.  But hope you are blessed by what you read!  Feeling inspired to express myself!

eternity

Don’t know what to do,

Don’t know where to go.

Hard to let go and say no.

 

Wish it was easy,

Not sleazy.

Don’t want to live life to please me.

 

I want to go forward,

Not eastward or westward,

Living daily the meaning of Easter.

 

Made many mistakes,

Pretended to be the greatest fake.

But now it’s time to take a step of faith.

 

I don’t know tomorrow,

I’ve held onto yesterday’s sorrows

Help me be deep, not shallow.

 

For too long I’ve been quiet,

I just listened and stayed silent.

Instead of showing pain I would hide it.

 

I’m tired of being broken,

It’s time to be open.

And allow God’s word to be spoken.

 

Break down this fence,

Help me trust when things don’t make sense.

Guess I wrote this cause I needed to vent.

 

You do whatever it takes,

With me you always relate.

Taking the time and never late.

 

You were around when things fell apart,

You were there when I felt I had no heart,

Felt at a time I was a messed up piece of art.

 

But you chose me beyond my flaws,

You taught me to walk when I could only crawl.

Even picked me up after every fall.

 

Holding me up with your righteous right hand,

Removing the ‘can’t,’ replacing with ‘can.’

Taking me from a boy to becoming a man.

 

Thanking you for coming in my life,

Helping me distinguish between wrong and right.

By overshadowing the darkness with light.

 

I want to see your face,

Waiting till I get to that place.

Trying daily to eliminate that space.

 

It’s going to be in the blink of an eye,

No tears, so don’t think I’ll cry.

…But together we’ll spend eternity, Jesus Christ and I

Leave a comment

Filed under Intimacy, Personal Reflection, Poems, Relationship